Language & Communication28th February 2021

Police Celebrate St David's Day With a BSL Performance of Welsh Anthem

Dyfed Powys Police making history and bridging the gap with the Deaf Community

by Simon Deacy O.B.E.

With the biggest geographical area of all 43 police forces in England and Wales, improving the response to a single operational issue that affects every part of Dyfed Powys is far more difficult than any other force, and yet when it comes to putting in place direct communication with the Deaf community through British Sign Language (BSL), Dyfed Powys Police are leading the way.

As a young police officer, I worked on the murder of a Deaf girl early in my service, and I was acutely aware of the communication vacuum that existed between the police and the Deaf community. However, what I was blissfully unaware of back then, was the level of mistrust in the police that the communication barrier generated. Nearly forty years on, having retired as a senior police officer and now working within a Deaf environment, it is upsetting to see how little progress on communication and trust has been made by police forces throughout England and Wales – until now, in the Dyfed Powys policing area.

Being able to communicate effectively is a must for the police service, and whilst the introduction of Police Liaison Officer’s for the Deaf (PLOD) in some English police forces is a small step forward in engagement of a few people within the Deaf community, being able to meet that communication need operationally for all Deaf people is something entirely different. That is what Dyfed Powys Police are trying to achieve.