Education16th June 2014

BSL tokenism in Schools

Discussing the lack of BSL being taught in schools and whether it should be on the National Curriculum.

by Charlotte Lawrence

British Sign Language has been recognised as a language since 2003, so I would like to raise the question; why is BSL not part of the National Curriculum?

I am currently studying Primary Education at Newport University and am always surprised at the wide range of subjects that are offered on the curriculum. However, lately I've been thinking... If 1 in 6 people in the UK are either Deaf or Hard of Hearing, why is BSL not given the same status as other modern language subjects like French and Spanish.

Believe it or not, most school's approach to teaching BSL is to simply teach the alphabet. Ask yourself, when you were in school learning your times tables, did you learn your 2 times table and then not bother with the rest? So why is it OK for schools to just teach the alphabet and forget about the rest of the language?

BSL is not a spoken language, therefore there doesn't need to be a sign for every single word. Facial expressions, eye contact, pointing and reference are used to give an impression or emotion. A simple sentence can be taught using just a couple of signs and facial expressions. Surely learning these simple sentences are of far more use than the alphabet. After all, the alphabet is rarely used any more than spelling out names or places.